VM Hardening for analysis

• Hello everyone,

This is my first post here and I’m fairly new to RE and malware analysis.
    I am preparing my master’s thesis about creating a virtual lab for malware analysis and I have some doubts about getting on the right path.

I have prepared a VM with virtualbox (i chose it because it’s free and I can save snapshots) with Win7 32bit and I’m trying to get it as stealthy as possible. So the first thing is not to install the VM Guest Additions.

I have used to create that VM the python script nsmfoo-antivmdetection. That was a bumpy ride. However it finally worked ( I might write all the steps and workarounds as a little tutorial on the forum when I have some spare time)

It makes the VM pass the pafish test all in green except rdtsc - which I read that is not a reliable method and few to none malware use it actually.

When I run al-khaser test it is mostly good except for:

• SMBIOS firmware
    • ACPI tables

Should I worry much about these two? Are these methods commonly used?
    How can I get this two checks corrected?

I tried creating a fresh VM with VBoxHardenedLoader but it’s been a pain. I lost a lot of time just to learn the hard way that win10 doesn’t fit well with it and I had to re-do everything on an old win7 x64 machine.
    Finally the VM passed al-khaser test except a couple of checks.

Would you recommend any other tool to make the VM stealthier?

• @joscandreu I would probably as the app.any.run team, they might give you some insight if you ask them (they have FUD as of now). Also in my experience, the steps you have completed have always been enough for me, without having to patch binaries to bypass checks.

• Hey @joscandreu welcome to Malware Analysis Forums! You may find these additional utilities useful:

https://github.com/LordNoteworthy/al-khaser

https://github.com/secrary/makin

The first one can be used in additional to pafish and the second one can be used on specific samples.